Brazilian Experience Participant Reviews

Overall Rating

10 / 10

  • Internship Placement

    10

  • Program Administration

    10

  • Living Situation

    10

  • Work Environment

    10

  • Health & Safety

    10

  • Social Life

    10

Carefree in Brazil

I spent three months in the beautiful southern city of Curitiba working as an Accounting Assistant. My days were carefree and enjoyable. I loved the building and the people I worked with. The city itself was gorgeous and littered with parks and friendly active people. I was able to travel to various cities around Brazil and enjoy Carnaval on a beautiful beach in Floripa while my hometown was being snowed in. And I owe it all to Brazilian Experience.

In September 2017 when I first applied on their website I was skeptical about how my experience would go. I didn’t know portuguese, I had yet to graduate and if I am honest, I did not even have a passport. Three months pass and I have a job with one of the largest accounting companies in the world, a home with an amazing family who spoke English (thank god) and a student visa to the beautiful country of Brazil. While in Brazil I was shown around town, given opportunities to meet other gringos(foreigners) and I had a helpline any time I needed it.I was able to live a dream of mine because of the hard work of Rafaela and Thais and I will be forever thankful. If you are interested in Brazil I encourage you to take the first step and contact Brazilian Experience!

Program: Brazilian Experience - Internship Program

  • Brazilian Experience responded to this review April 11, 2018 at 2:58 PM

    Dear George,

    Thank you for coming! Congratulations for allowing yourself to board this experience with an open mind and positive attitude.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We are looking forward to have you back in Brazil!

    Wishing you a lot of success on your career. Keep in touch!!

Overall Rating

10 / 10

  • Volunteer Placement

    10

  • Program Administration

    10

  • Living Situation

    10

  • Community Engagement

    10

  • Health & Safety

    10

  • Day to Day Life

    8

One of the best experience in my life

I was in Florianopolis in November 2015 and I really miss my time there. I worked as a volunteer in the organization R3 animal: I couldn't speak Portuguese when I arrived, but after the first week I could understand it pretty well and in the second I could start to have some conversation with the locals. And that was possible because of the amazing people that worked there and helped me a lot: even if it was difficult because of the language, everyone tried to talk with me and to find a way to communicate.
I lived with a girl that also worked there and she introduced me to all her friends. I felt really accepted and it was nice to spend time with them. I am still in contact with some of them and I hope to have another chance to go back.
My support person in Florianopolis was always avaible and helped me every time I need it. She also showed me some cool places! Also the support from the central organization in Curitiba was very good.
My overall experience with BrazilianExperience was more than good and the same was with the R3 organization.
Florianopolis is a really cool city, with a lot of beaches and other cool places.
I can only reccommend an experience like that: it was my first time outside Europe and thanks to all the nices people I met, it was one of the most amazing time in my life! Totally worth it!

Program: Wildlife Rescue Center – Florianópolis

  • Brazilian Experience responded to this review March 08, 2018 at 11:34 AM

    Dear Chiara, we appreciate you taking the time to review our program and share your experience with future volunteers.

    Hope you can come back to visit us someday!

    Our best regards from Brazil!

Overall Rating

10 / 10

  • Internship Placement

    10

  • Program Administration

    10

  • Living Situation

    10

  • Work Environment

    10

  • Health & Safety

    9

  • Social Life

    10

Brazilian experience

I loved my experience in Brazil! Not only I was able to get hands-on experience in my field, but I also got to know different places, food, and culture! Brazilian people were very welcoming and friendly. Our host family made us feel at home and people at work were very patient and understanding with our lack of Portuguese training. The program's local coordinator also checked on us and was willing to help us with anything we needed. Overall, it was a great experience! I would highly recommend Brazilian Experience to any student who is open-minded and want to get experience working for an industry.

Program: Brazilian Experience - Internship Program

  • Brazilian Experience responded to this review October 10, 2017 at 2:36 PM

    Thank you for your review, Andrea! We are glad you were able to enjoy your internship and feel like home in Brazil. We wish you a bright future!

Overall Rating

7 / 10

  • Volunteer Placement

    8

  • Program Administration

    7

  • Living Situation

    8

  • Community Engagement

    9

  • Health & Safety

    10

  • Day to Day Life

    7

Mistery

It was in 2015 when i decide to travel somewhere, alone, and with something to do with volunteer job. Searching on the internet i found the program of Brazilian Experience and i knew it was the one. I was very afraid because it was a month away from my parents and everything that was familiar to me but in the other hand, i truly believe it's an experience that everyone should have. It gives you maturity, independence, gives you the opportunity to know a new culture, different people (whom by the way, were lovely with me since minute 1), food, places, smells, everything.
Since i got in the airplane i told to myself "ok now i really messed up" because i has this roller coaster of emotions, but honestly, i can't wait to have another oportunity like that.
Brasil is huge, so i wasn´t able to known all the places i want but if you can, take one or two weeks to travel around it will be the best!!
Taste everything, take pictures, don´t be afraid of talk in portuguesse, ask questions, buy books in portugesse, go and walk around!!!

Program: Wildlife Rescue Center – Florianópolis

Overall Rating

9 / 10

  • Internship Placement

    9

  • Program Administration

    8

  • Living Situation

    N/A

  • Work Environment

    9

  • Health & Safety

    7

  • Social Life

    10

Brazilian experience

Overall my experience with Brazilian Experience was wonderful. It was a life changing adventure that I will remember and cherish for a lifetime. The company they placed me in was great, and their guidance throughout the trip was very helpful and useful. I had my own living arrangements planned, so I cannot comment on that part, but the other students who were there said they enjoyed their housing arrangements. The only complaint that I have is the representative I was in communication with went on vacation about a month and half before my departure date, and when I had to get my visa and a lot of paperwork for my trip, I felt like it was a lot of last minute scrambling, because we lost a week and a half of communication. Everything worked out in the end, but my advice would be tell people that they will need to travel for a visa more than a couple weeks before their planned trip.

Program: Brazilian Experience - Internship Program

Overall Rating

10 / 10

  • Internship Placement

    8

  • Program Administration

    10

  • Living Situation

    10

  • Work Environment

    10

  • Health & Safety

    10

  • Social Life

    10

Invaluable experience

Brazilian Experience provided an excellent opportunity to gain valuable work experience through and international internship. They were extremely kind and had answers to all of my questions. They placed me with a wonderful company where I had the chance to apply my knowledge to real world projects, and all of the people at the company treated me with respect and made me feel welcome. Also, they placed me with a great host family. They truly made me feel like family, and invited me to a variety of parties and family events. If I ever had any concerns, it was simple to reach out to one of the program coordinators via email, Facebook messenger, or WhatsApp. If I had to do it all again, I wouldn't choose any other organization. The people and culture of Brazil is amazing and I never felt alone or fearful because I knew I could quickly and easily contact Brazilian Experience.

Program: Brazilian Experience - Internship Program

  • Brazilian Experience responded to this review October 03, 2017 at 10:55 AM

    Hi Brett, what a warm review! We are glad to know that you felt safe and supported while taking the most of your experience in Brazil. Hope to see you again in Brazil, Texas or somewhere else in the world.

Overall Rating

10 / 10

  • Internship Placement

    10

  • Program Administration

    10

  • Living Situation

    10

  • Work Environment

    10

  • Health & Safety

    10

  • Social Life

    10

Curitiba

Brazil is full of wonderful people, beautiful street art, and several beautiful parks. If you are wanting to travel abroad I strongly suggest this program and this city. You will constantly see amazing artwork all over the city, there are endless things to do during the day, and night, and I promise you will meet some of the kindest people in your life. Curitiba also has a very big night life as well, and I definitely suggest going out and experiencing some of their bars and clubs. There are several cities close by that you can travel to, and a beach just one hour away.

I had a great experience in Curitiba. I interned for a company called Lactec Institutos where I researched acoustic emissions, and wrote a multivariable Matlab code that returned the exact source location of any acoustic emission. I learned a lot about a subject I previously had no knowledge on, I was able to network with several engineers, and gain real world work experience in the engineering field. Because of this internship I have gained a new interest in mechanical engineering that opens completely new job opportunities for me in the future.

I also learned a lot of the Portuguese language. I do not speak it well, but I am able to read and write a lot of the language. I read and write in Portuguese every day because I keep in touch with my host family, and friends. The best part of my international experience were the friendships I made. I lived with a huge, and kind host family who only spoke Portuguese, but that did not get in the way of us becoming close to one another. They treated me like family, and in return they feel like family to me. I miss them dearly. Every single day I made new friends that introduced me to new foods, and places.

While I was in Brazil, I also got to travel to a couple other cities – Rio de Janeiro, and Foz do Iguacu. I swam in the ocean while in Rio, and while in Foz do Iguacu I visited Parque Das Aves – a beautiful bird sanctuary. While I was in Foz do Iguacu I was able to go over to Argentina and see one of the seven wonders of nature – Iguacu Falls National Park. Iguacu Falls is the most breathtaking place I have ever seen. I spent eight hours hiking through beautiful waterfalls, and getting to see adorable wildlife. While in Curitiba I was able to visit several parks, including a Ukrainian memorial park, and I even got to stand just a couple feet away from a hundred to hundred and fifty pound, wild rodent – the capybara. I had an intense cultural experience that I am absolutely grateful for.

The program coordinators are caring, and friendly. They go out of their way to ensure you are enjoying your time there, and that you feel safe and comfortable there. They have events every week so there is always something to do and if you have any questions or concerns you can drop by the office or send them a text.

I intend on returning to Brazil after I graduate because there are still many places I would like to see, and of course I want to visit all the wonderful people I got the opportunity to get to know and love. This international experience to Brazil has changed me for the better. Life feels brighter, and happier. I no longer take the small things for granted, and I always remember to tell my family and friends how much I care for them. Brazil is full of wonderful people and if you are wanting to travel abroad I strongly suggest this program and this city.

Program: Brazilian Experience - Internship Program

  • Brazilian Experience responded to this review October 03, 2017 at 11:07 AM

    Bobbie, you are so sweet! I'm happy to know that your internship experience was so good as your personal experience. One of the best things we can take from living abroad is the strong connections we make along the way. Hope to see you soon in Brazil again.

Overall Rating

9 / 10

  • Internship Placement

    8

  • Program Administration

    8

  • Living Situation

    10

  • Work Environment

    10

  • Health & Safety

    7

  • Social Life

    9

Great

I loved it. This was a really great way to open my mind and grow as a person. I lived with a great family that was very supportive and the work environment was very welcoming despite the language barrier. Overall I wish I could experience this again from the beginninng and this motivates me to go beyond the limit.

Program: Brazilian Experience - Internship Program

  • Brazilian Experience responded to this review October 03, 2017 at 11:20 AM

    Thank you for your review, Israel! We are happy to know how important this experience was to you.

Overall Rating

10 / 10

  • Internship Placement

    9

  • Program Administration

    10

  • Living Situation

    8

  • Work Environment

    10

  • Health & Safety

    10

  • Social Life

    10

Internship in Curitiba

I had a great time on my trip to Curitiba, Brazil. My internship was awesome and directly related to my major and is going to help me a lot in my next semester at school. I still keep in touch with so many of the awesome people I met in Brazil and I miss it so much. Rafaela, Thais and Sarah were all so sweet and helped me with everything I asked! They went beyond that too and invited me and other interns to social events. The city was beautiful and I never felt threatened or unsafe and the public transportation was really easy to use once you understand it. Overall, my trip was just the best and I can't wait to go visit again!

Program: Brazilian Experience - Internship Program

  • Brazilian Experience responded to this review October 03, 2017 at 11:23 AM

    Spencer, you're so nice! We miss you! We're glad to know you enjoyed Brazil and your internship, we will be waiting for your next visit!

Overall Rating

10 / 10

  • Internship Placement

    9

  • Program Administration

    10

  • Living Situation

    10

  • Work Environment

    9

  • Health & Safety

    10

  • Social Life

    9

Most Rewarding experience

I spent two months in Curitiba Brazil working at TETO, which is an ONG that helps the less fortunate community to organize and improve the quality of their life. Working at TETO not only helped me to grow as a civil engineer but also to be more knowledgeable about my surroundings. As an engineering student, I learned that everything that I will do and design has the purpose of improving people's life and during my time in Brazil I learned that in order to be a better engineer I also need to understand those needs. Besides my academic experience, I will like to add that my time in Curitiba was extraordinary.
I always felt safe and people around me were always supporting and caring. Brazilian experience has a wonderful and friendly staff that is always willing to help you if you have any problem or concern. Also, the host sister that I got assign was wonderful, she was friendly, took care of me and worried for my safety all the time. I was surrounded by wonderful people who made me feel like home during my entire time in Brazil.

Program: Brazilian Experience - Internship Program

  • Brazilian Experience responded to this review October 03, 2017 at 12:44 PM

    Dear Minerva, we are so happy to know that your experience in Brazil was so enriching and that we were able to be part of that. You will always be welcome to visit us again.