Overall Rating

Total Reviews

Language School

Just one problem - I never want to leave!

- United States

July 29, 2018

This is my second year in a row doing the program (2017 & 2018). I didn't write a review last year because I can be a bit lazy with reviewing programs/products that I enjoy. I originally signed up for the first 3 weeks program, after the first few days I changed to the 6 week program.. then I just updated to the 9 week one! I think that alone describes how much I enjoyed it. This year (2018) I signed up for the 6 week program... but after the first few weeks changed to the 9 again!

You will me so many wonderful people from all over the world and make life long friends. The staff is amazing and the structure of the program means that you dive deep into the language and learn so much. If they had a 6 month program I'd do it. There is no better way to learn then going. I may have a problem though.. as the title says I may be addicted

and when in doubt make sure to fika!

An excellent summer

- United States

December 21, 2017

The nine weeks I spent at the Uppsala International Summer Session last summer were superb. I loved being immersed in Swedish culture and in an international community. The program offered rich opportunities to experience Sweden, including performances, events, day trips, and weekend outings. The staff were helpful, competent, and supportive. However, the most important thing to me was the quality of the language instruction. I went to UISS hoping to learn as much Swedish as I could over a summer. I could not have been happier with the quality of the Swedish classes I took, with highly trained instructors, and outstanding materials.

A great experience!

- France

December 21, 2017

I had a spännande time at the UISS!
Teachers, staff, accommodation and Uppsala are all GREAT! And my Swedish has improved A LOT! I will definitely be back this summer!

Vi ses snart allihopa!

N.

Amazing and very useful

- Russia

December 20, 2017

I came for a 6-week study of Swedish, but I felt so happy and enjoyable, that I told myself "No, you can't go away now because you will envy all the students that rest" ..so I prolonged my study till the end of the program. Now it's December but I still remember every day of the program! I really learned Swedish, I met nice people, I knew a lot of Sweden. Now I count days to come back, and even FIFA Mondial 2018 in my native country Russia can't be better that UISS! Love every teacher, every staff person, every student!

Take a leap into the unknown

- Poland

December 20, 2017

There is no better way to break the monotony of typical vacation days. The classes are varied and interesting so you do not have to muster the energy to get up every morning. No administrative hurdles, very helpful staff and a lot of people from all over the world to get to know. It is definitely an unparalleled opportunity to step outside of your comfort zone.

Amazing and fruitful experience

- Italy

September 12, 2017

I have tried learning Swedish unsuccessfully with some of those apps and online courses that teach you mainly close to meaningless sentences as ‘the dog loves cornflakes’ or ‘grandma is running’.
It was useful for perhaps learning some words and detach a little from the ground level, but as we all know, the real deal is to be in loco and get accustomed to a language while living and interact with real people.
So I decided to look around on the internet for possible solutions to be squeezed into my holidays.
9 weeks was exactly what I was pointing to, in order to maximize the results.
ACCOMMODATION SOLUTIONS IN SWEDEN
Sweden is an expensive country and on one hand rather bureaucratically hostile when it comes to accommodations for people without a person-number (their sort of ID and tax all-in-one number) and also very expensive, especially when it comes to temporary private accommodation solutions.
As a matter of fact, the formula ‘all inclusive’ was indeed what took my attention first, and I believe everyone should be after that.
Doing the math, considering hours of teaching, previous reviews, accommodation etcetera, it looked like a very honest price for Sweden and the only course with this length and options which could make it worth to take such a step. But looking around, there are actually very few alternatives.
I sent my application and decided to invest in that course during my summer vacations.
The whole organization is super efficient, flexible and impossible for anyone to get into trouble. Before and after the start of the course all inquiries are processed and problems solved. The director of the course is a catalyst for problems and her experience makes them dissolve even before bothering to find a solution.
PRIOR TO ARRIVAL
Before arrival, the entire main logistical info is sent in due time by e-mail. Given the fact that I had a particularly difficult situation with payments to foreign banks, I had plenty of email exchanges with the staff before admission and I did receive answers promptly, once even 3 minutes after my inquiry. And I am being serious.
ARRIVAL
The accommodation was the first thing I came in touch with. It is located in a perfect central area with a building fully equipped with everything. It was so well equipped I didn’t even use all the stuff I could have used.
My room was just what I wanted and needed, equipped with also a tv I never used + a dvd player, an in-room kitchen used 5 – 6 times which was just spot on in case for a day or two one doesn’t feel like cooking in the common kitchen.
All students are provided with prefixed student cards that will allow them to enter the local student unions.

UISS is a wonderful program!

- United States

September 3, 2017

UISS is an excellent program. The language instruction alone makes it worth the trip. The classes are rigorous and fast-paced. It is easy to see improvement in speaking and comprehension after just one week. I remember loving the program and learning a lot twenty years ago, but this time I really experienced the specialness of the program. There is a warm, generous, open feeling in the air that starts with Nelleke, the director, and goes through the staff and all the students. There is a real sense of togetherness that is helped in large part to having fika (coffee break with snacks) and lunch together every day as well as the many evening and weekend get togethers. There are people of all ages from all over the world and everyone mixes quite well. I especially got a lot out of my afternoon class (Improving your Swedish through Theater and Music). It was very active with lots of theater games and songs and it was actually the most challenging thing I did. Most people in that class were at I higher level than I was but our teacher was excellent at making the class a place where you could take risks and push past your comfort zone. There is lots of singing the entire time at UISS and it is great because everyone participates with great enthusiasm. I'm not one to jump into group singing in the United States, but at UISS, the enthusiasm is really catching and I found myself participating with great gusto. I really did not want to leave at the end. I'm already trying to figure out when I can come back!

An integral quality learning

- Mexico

September 1, 2017

Everything is great in all the senses for the summer session course, the organization of it, the cultural experience, the great environment, the highly qualified teachers, the school facilities, the housing, the friendly environment and the knowledge acquired both cultural and language.

Definitely this is a great experience in case you really want to be immersed into the culture, language and every day life in Sweden, due the social activities, excursions, weekend trips and the evening classes which will allow you to know and understand a lot more about the aspects of the society and how a lot of things work in the country.

There is a lot to say about it to describe the great experience, to summarize it definitely I'll attend the next summer session.

Swedish excellent summer programme

- Spain

September 1, 2017

Strongly advisable program which offers activities not only to learn the Swedish language, but also the culture and society. Adapted to all the different EU leves, it is a programme that will be useful for all the people that are interested in studying the Swedish language.

Review

- Slovakia

August 31, 2017

It was a great experience to learn Swedish and meet new people from all over the world at the same time. The teachers and the staff were really nice and helpful. I was there for the first time and I look forward to do it again.