Projects Abroad Participant Reviews

Overall Rating

10 / 10

  • Volunteer Placement

    9

  • Program Administration

    10

  • Living Situation

    8

  • Community Engagement

    9

  • Health & Safety

    8

  • Day to Day Life

    10

The trip of a lifetime

Last December, I was in Chitwan for the two weeks High School Medicine projects with Projects Abroad.

My trip to Nepal was my first time travelling abroad alone, and before arrival I was beyond terrified. However, any doubt that was instilled in me was quickly relinquished, once I was greeted by the Project Abroad Staff with a hug. My two weeks in Nepal certainly flew by quickly, everyday a new exciting event occurred, and we learnt so many valuable information about the Health Care System in Nepal and got to visit beautiful beaches and markets.

The staff and the other volunteered contributed to the most fulfilling two weeks of my life; they were all incredibly kind, supportive and open. They were understanding towards our initial fears, and always made sure we would provide them feedback to better the program, and to ensure that our best interests were put first.

The opportunities we received at placements were fantastic, we got an opportunity to observe the everyday activities in an eye, family planning and cancer hospital. We watched various cool procedures, and had an opportunity to learn from a surgeon, nurse and the staff at placements were always happy to help. It was honestly a wonderful two weeks, and I cannot stress how much I enjoyed myself in Nepal under Projects Abroad.

Program: Medical Experience in Nepal with Projects Abroad

  • Projects Abroad responded to this review January 10, 2018 at 12:55 PM

    Dear Amanda. It´s wonderful to hear you had such an amazing time in Nepal. We do understand that traveling abroad alone for the first time can be scary, which is why we set up High School Specials so you can join a group of teens just like you, and you can all have that additional support from our staff. We are glad to hear you feel so comforted and safe and that you were able to explore Nepal and learn so much about or the Health Care system works. Thanks for sharing!

Overall Rating

10 / 10

  • Volunteer Placement

    10

  • Program Administration

    9

  • Living Situation

    9

  • Community Engagement

    9

  • Health & Safety

    9

  • Day to Day Life

    9

4 Week Medical Internship in Shanghai, China

Projects Abroad was a helpful, informative, useful, inspiring and genuinely kind company to deal with. I was never worried that I was being scammed or taken advantage of at any point during my stay in China or during the application process. From the initial steps of signing up for the program I was well taken care of and maintained close contact to my program supervisor. Projects Abroad had all their bases covered regarding housing, cell phone usage, flat mate meetings, hospital proximity and EVERYTHING else you can think of. This program taught me a lot about, not only medicine, but also strengthened my own personal confidence when placed within a diverse and completely different culture than my own. I would strongly recommend Projects Abroad to anyone looking to expand their comfort zone while learning your desired field of study - it is one of the best decisions I have ever made.

Program: Medical Internships in China with Projects Abroad

  • Projects Abroad responded to this review January 10, 2018 at 12:46 PM

    Dear Stuart. We understand that it is a bit scary going off to a new country on the other side of the world, which is why we work very hard to make sure that our volunteers feel supported and safe at all times. We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful experience in China and that you were able to learn about Medicine and about yourself. That's what we are all about! Thanks for sharing!

Overall Rating

10 / 10

  • Volunteer Placement

    10

  • Program Administration

    10

  • Living Situation

    10

  • Community Engagement

    10

  • Health & Safety

    10

  • Day to Day Life

    10

Volunteer with Projects Abroad

My name is Brooke Stoddard, and I travelled to Kenya in October 2017 to volunteer with Projects Abroad. At first, I was quite nervous about the whole adventure, since it was my first time travelling so far from home. Not only was I travelling far from home, I did not know anyone either. When I first arrived, I, as well as many other volunteers, thought "What am i doing here?". However, once I arrived to the Projects Abroad office in Nanyuki, all my stress had dropped off my shoulders. I was so relived. The staff was extremely welcoming, and make 100% certain that all their volunteers are safe at all times. The volunteers felt like family to me for the 3 weeks I was in Kenya. The volunteering was a life changing experience. I was working in the orphanages, and the children are so appreciative of everything we do for them. They simply may just need a smile, or a hug to make a difference in their day. It is truly heart warming. Every week day, all the volunteers were brought back to the Projects Abroad office where we could all interact and socialize with one another, which truly was great. Also, the staff organized social events every week, in order for the volunteers to simply get together and have fun. I guess i could go on and on about this volunteer trip, but if i have one last thing to mention, its that I highly recommend Projects Abroad. They are all simply amazing. From the moment you sign up for the trip, until the last day you leave the destination to go home. I, for one, loved every second of my adventure, and I will certainly be back to volunteer soon with Projects Abroad.

Program: Care Work in Kenya with Projects Abroad

  • Projects Abroad responded to this review December 14, 2017 at 4:45 PM

    Dear Brooke. We understand that travelling abroad for the first time is a big adventure, which is why we are happy to help brave volunteers such as yourself get adapted to their new surroundings as soon as possible so they can start enjoying! We do believe that a big part of this experience is sharing it with other like-minded people from around the world, which is why we encourage volunteers to meet and become friends. Thank you very much for all your help, I am sure the children you helped are just as grateful as well!

Overall Rating

10 / 10

  • Volunteer Placement

    10

  • Program Administration

    10

  • Living Situation

    9

  • Community Engagement

    10

  • Health & Safety

    10

  • Day to Day Life

    9

Peru - care and community

Projects Abroad did a really great job of making us all feel safe, even during riots at the time. We were under constant supervision at all times, even for tasks when we were forced to split into smaller groups (like taking cabs home).
The 40 hours of volunteer work was balanced between an elderly home and a kindergarten. In the elderly home you could choose to interact with the seniors or work in the kitchen. In the kindergartens, everyone was split between classrooms and acted as a TA to the teacher present.
Living conditions were great, they make sure you are with a couple other people.
About 3/4's of the group came individually, so don't feel hesitant to sign up without a friend. Everyone got along great.
The trip to Machu Picchu was unsurprisingly amazing, but the rest of the trip was so excellent that it just seems like one of many highlights.
I would definitely recommend this program for anyone between 16-18 years old who enjoys interacting with people.

Program: Care & Community Work in Peru for Teens

  • Projects Abroad responded to this review December 14, 2017 at 4:48 PM

    Hi Georgia, thanks for sharing your experience! Indeed, Peru is such a beautiful place and its people are so friendly it's hard to choose a single highlight! We do understand that we have many young volunteers coming abroad for the first time, which is why we try to make the adaptation process as soon as possible and our local staff always work hard to make you all feel supported and safe at all times.

Overall Rating

10 / 10

  • Volunteer Placement

    8

  • Program Administration

    10

  • Living Situation

    10

  • Community Engagement

    10

  • Health & Safety

    9

  • Day to Day Life

    10

Immersed in another culture : volunteering in Tanzania with Projects Abroad

Volunteering with Projects Abroad was a life-changing experience. I was nervous going to a place so different from anywhere I had ever been before, without my family or anyone I knew, for three months, but the support from Projects Abroad made it seem possible. From the get-go, the Projects Abroad team answered all my questions at their office in Toronto, and by e-mail. They sent me all the information I needed to know, and then some, so that I felt prepared for my trip to Tanzania. In country, they picked me up from the hotel I was staying at with my family (I went on a safari trip for two weeks before starting my internship) and took me to meet my host family. They gave me a thorough orientation of the city and how to get around and made sure I knew exactly how to get to my placement using the dala-dala bus system. My internship at Inherit Your Rights, a local non-governmental organization that works with local widow groups in the surrounding villages regarding human rights issues, particularly inheritance and property law, was an incredible learning experience. I was able to meet and work with the local people, as well as with other volunteers from all over the world. My host family was also so welcoming and made me feel like family. I was continually pushed outside of my comfort zone, but through it all, Projects Abroad was there to support me and make sure it was a positive experience, one that expanded my view of the world and taught me more about myself and the world I live in. Hands down – I would recommend Projects Abroad for anyone looking to volunteer abroad for the first time!

Program: Human Rights Internship in Tanzania with Projects Abroad

  • Projects Abroad responded to this review December 14, 2017 at 4:50 PM

    Dear Kiara. We understand that going abroad for the first time may be difficult, which is why our staff are always there to help you every step of the way. We are glad you felt supported at all times! Thanks for sharing your experience in your Human Rights project and with your host family - it does sound like you had an amazing time!

Overall Rating

10 / 10

  • Volunteer Placement

    10

  • Program Administration

    10

  • Living Situation

    10

  • Community Engagement

    10

  • Health & Safety

    10

  • Day to Day Life

    9

Projects Abraod- Shanghai

Hello!

My name is Kevin, I am an American university student. I recently chose Projects Abroad to volunteer abroad and I am glad I made the choice. They have been very helpful even before I left the US. I was assigned an adviser who answered all questions I might have had. I felt very welcomed when I arrived and the wonderful staff at Projects Abroad showed me around Shanghai and I eventually became familiar with this huge city. I am glad I chose Projects Abroad. They helped me find a great placement to work at, which was a perfect match of what I was looking for. Projects Abroad was there when you needed them. Whether it is how to use public transportation, how to efficiently travel, food suggestions, or safety concerns, they did the best to help me. I met many people from around the world during my trip to Shanghai and these friendships and my experience abroad will forever be something I will remember. I would recommend Projects Abroad to all who is looking to go abroad!

Program: Care Work with Children in China with Projects Abroad

  • Projects Abroad responded to this review December 14, 2017 at 4:41 PM

    Hi Kevin. Thank you for sharing! We invite every volunteer to join in our local events so it's easier for you to connect with the rest of the volunteers and make friends. Soon, you are all planning activities around the city on your own, which is always fun. It's great that you were able to enjoy the country and your work at the same time. Hope to see you again soon!

Overall Rating

8 / 10

  • Program Opportunities

    8

  • Living Situation

    10

  • Cultural Immersion

    9

  • Health & Safety

    9

  • Program Administration

    10

  • Personal Development

    10

Galapagos magic

It was truly amazing! Very hard work, but it's so worth it! The kids were absolutely adorable, constantly wanting to be with you. Their vibrant energy exhausting you but every day I was excited to go back! The animals were stunning, the weekend island trips were beautiful and Galapagos is such a safe and friendly place to volunteer. You meet amazing friends all over the world who I still speak with regularly. It's a challenging trip, but every moment so special.

Program: Care & Community work in Ecuador for teens

  • Projects Abroad responded to this review December 01, 2017 at 4:20 PM

    Dear Carly. We agree, Ecuador is an incredibly beautiful place, and their people is just the friendliest. Especially in the Galapagos Islands. It's great that you were able to explore this unique region, and that you enjoyed your time with the children as well. Thanks for sharing!

Overall Rating

10 / 10

  • Volunteer Placement

    8

  • Program Administration

    10

  • Living Situation

    10

  • Community Engagement

    N/A

  • Health & Safety

    10

  • Day to Day Life

    10

Amazing and very humbling!

Amazing experience!!
I spent 4 wks working in two kindergarten classes in Heredia.
I had no previous teaching experience, but loved my time with the kids. From my first day with the kids, they quickly made me feel at home. Though the days started very early and ended around 4:30pm, I was left very satisfied and humbled.

Very humbled.

Program: Care Work with Children in Costa Rica with Projects Abroad

  • Projects Abroad responded to this review December 01, 2017 at 4:21 PM

    Dear Nadie. Those are stunning pictures! You look so happy and so do the children. I am sure they are very thankful that you were able to spend some time with them in the classroom. Thanks for sharing!

Overall Rating

9 / 10

  • Program Opportunities

    8

  • Living Situation

    10

  • Cultural Immersion

    8

  • Health & Safety

    10

  • Program Administration

    10

  • Personal Development

    10

My first time volunteering abroad!

I had a great experience with Projects Abroad. My parents were a little worried about security and the political situation the country I would volunteer in would be so I picked Peru and it was a great choice! Projects Abroad always made sure we were happy and if we wanted to do change something in our schedule all we had to do was ask! They were very welcoming. I met so many great people like my host family, other volunteers and the staff. Not only did I volunteer but we visited Peru and its various cultural sights. Overall I had a great time and I would definitely do it again!

Program: Care & Community Work in Peru for Teens

  • Projects Abroad responded to this review December 01, 2017 at 4:22 PM

    Dear Estelle. Thank you for sharing! We are glad you were able to join is in Peru and explore this beautiful country. Hope to see you again soon!

Overall Rating

10 / 10

  • Volunteer Placement

    10

  • Program Administration

    10

  • Living Situation

    8

  • Community Engagement

    9

  • Health & Safety

    10

  • Day to Day Life

    10

Incredible volunteer experience through projects abroad

My two weeks of volunteering in the Public Health program in Cambodia through Projects Abroad was hands-down the most amazing experience of my life. While the incredible people I met, the work I did, and the unforgettable memories all play an enormous role in my reflection of this experience, I know that the program itself is to thank for most of this. The volunteers were incredibly well taken care of, and there was never an instance where I felt that the program had been ill-prepared to handle the situation; we always had a safe place to stay, clean/safe food and water, and ample opportunities to communicate with our program leaders if we ever needed extra help or support. Leaving a small town in Alaska to travel to a developing country on a continent I had never been to before was, understandably, only marginally less than terrifying, but the constant support from the Projects Abroad staff—which starts nearly the moment you send in your application—helped alleviate my concerns and was one of the factors that helped me decide to proceed with my volunteer experience.

Besides the administrative staff, the volunteer staff whom you work side-by-side with were also a key factor in the experience: as a public health volunteer, I spent all day, every day working with 2-3 staff who acted as the medical experts and translators during our interactions with patients, and all of them were fun-loving, friendly, and enjoyable to be around, as well as supportive, helpful, and more than willing to teach us anything we wanted to know about medicine, Cambodia, or the culture. I have no reservations in entirely, whole-heartedly recommending this program to anyone wanting to volunteer abroad.

Program: Projects Abroad in Cambodia

  • Projects Abroad responded to this review December 01, 2017 at 4:18 PM

    Dear Stacey. Thank you for sharing! We are glad you were able to enjoy your time in Cambodia so much. Our staff is always happy to help make your experience comfortable and safe, so it's great that you felt this way. Hope to see you again in another one of our projects soon!